Peace In The Valley

 

9781601427809

So not too long ago I reviewed the second book in the trilogy set at the Double S Ranch in my own home valley in central Washington. The third book is Peace In The Valley. Ruth Logan Herne is fast becoming one of my favorite authors. This world is so often dark and ugly, but the two books I’ve read of hers so far are a great escape.

Peace in the Valley was even better, in my  opinion, than Home on the Range and that was pretty darn good. Chivalrous men and romance, cattle ranching and children, family and faith. These novel are good, clean reads. I highly recommend them.

I love the country setting, especially as it’s my home! I admire the strong women and the community they bring to the family of cattle ranching guys.  I’m now a fan of these wholesome stories and the characters are people I feel like I know. I root for them, I’m looking for them in town now…ha ha! No, but really, Mrs. Herne has developed her characters well. The stories satisfy me in that the problems are overcome, the good guy’s dreams come true…and so many people don’t write like this anymore. I’m not part of the fiction reading public that needs graphic and terrible tragedy to feel something. I want a good place to “go” and then leave again with warm feelings, ready to enter my own world again. Ruth’s books do that for me.

In Peace in the Valley I fell in love with Trey. Who wouldn’t? He’s a dreamy dude and you’re missing out if you don’t meet him. Lucy is a woman of strength and conviction, not afraid to work hard and scrabble for a living. She’s doing her best to raise her own children alone, and her troubled teenaged sister-in-law. Her late husband was a no-good and it appears to have run in the family.

You can read the first chapter here

The Christian themes of forgiveness and grace, of making your wrongs right and doing the right thing even if it hurts are woven throughout a nicely paced story. The men in the book will make you wish you’d married a cowboy. The strong but tender and manly ideals to live by, to teach to children and to model to teens is what the Stafford men are about, even if that’s not what they were once. Redemption is a big deal in the two books I’ve read in this trilogy. I’m going to order the first one now, because how can I go on without reading the beginning of the tale? Each book will stand alone, but really the characters are so fabulous I’ve decided I need the first book.

My thanks to the publisher for sending me a copy of this book to review. It’s an unbiased review and the book was free. I have enjoyed reading Ruth Logan Herne and have happily found that she is prolific and there are lots more books to read.

 

About this book:

In spite of their differences, Trey Walker Stafford knows he owes his life to cowboy and legendary rancher Sam Stafford—the uncle who rescued him after his parents’ death. Trey had left the Double S Ranch to pursue music against Sam’s wishes, but returns to central Washington when he learns he’s the best match for a procedure that could save Sam’s life. Although Trey’s found country music fame and success, he’s also endured the tragic loss of his wife. He croons about love, but struggles with a yawning emptiness he can’t explain.

Overwhelmed by a growing list of challenges, but mistrustful of Stafford men, single mother Lucy Carlton reluctantly accepts Trey’s help to revive her crumbling farm when Sam instructs him to repay the overdue debt to her family.

As the two grow closer, Trey slowly begins to open his heart to this beautiful woman and strives to let go of the grief he’s held for years. Lucy has a complicated history of her own. Can Trey accept her as she is, learn to forgive the past, and find the elusive peace he’s sought for so long?

Waterbrook & Multnomah Fiction

See the author’s bio

259708

Leave a Reply

