Book Review · christianity · country living · farm and ranch · Parenting · Uncategorized

Home on the Range

 

I hadn’t read a novel by Ruth Logan Herne before. What a treat, I’m so glad I did. Not only was the story well crafted, but low and behold it’s setting was in my neck of the woods! Home on the Range  is a christian western romance. It’s #2 in a trilogy and talk about characters well done…strong, handsome and rich-men to swoon over. Let’s face it, every now and again we need a good romance in our lives and sometimes, well, sometimes that comes inside the pages of a book. Not only are the men handsome cowboys, but the ladies in these novels are strong, full of conviction and courage and of course, beauties to behold. Thank goodness because who wants to read about insipid weak-willed women? Not me.

(I hope you enjoy some shots around my ranch this week sprinkled in this post.And yes, that’s a snake in my house. Happens.)

About the book:

Can the brother left behind and a woman without hope work together for the good of two precious children?

Nick Stafford stayed in central Washington, working his family’s large ranch after his brothers left to pursue other passions—but his toughest job is being a single dad. As a child he watched his father fail at marriage and parenting, so Nick was determined to show him up. He’d be a better husband, father, and ranch manager than Sam Stafford ever was. Despite that commitment, three years after Nick’s wife left him, he has a daughter in trouble at school and both of his girls are facing issues that force him to rethink his stubborn plans.

For Dr. Elsa Andreas, life fell apart when tragedy caused her to abandon her family therapy practice and retreat to the backwoods of Gray’s Glen. Her school principal sister believes Elsa can guide the Stafford girls and that working with kids will draw Elsa out of her protective bubble.

Summer on the Double S teems with life and adventure. Amid the bounty of God and land, will Nick and Elsa find the courage to build futures based on faith rather than fear?

18238639_10212233126558720_1173898445160694213_o

What’s not to like about this tender and inspiring tale? The setting is the Double S Ranch in central Washington. I had such fun reading about places I know personally, including the bakery in Cle Elum. My adult kids travel an hour just to enjoy those donuts. Nick and Elsa had the maple bars in the story 🙂

I loved the country setting and the descriptions of familiar places and activities on the ranch. I love our ranch and I identified with Elsa, the main character, and her love for the ranch.

The plot and characters have substance, it’s about powerful and tragic social ills and realistic events and people with  just enough drama to keep you turning pages when you really should be doing laundry. Or dishes. Or making your family dinner. Anyway…moving on; I loved this book.

517PYEksnHL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

I really didn’t think I would. I don’t usually go for romance novels. This one was full of faith, it wasn’t trashy or a shallow. It surprised me and I’m happy to have found a new author to love. Ruth Logan Herne knows how to write. I could see and smell and feel right along with the characters and that’s just the kind of thing we readers like. The experience of being immersed in the story and feeling we know and understand the characters. That’s the mark of a good, solid and well-written novel. Which is the only ind I can enjoy. I recommend Home on the Range, and books #1 and #3 as well.

*I received a copy of this book free from the pubisher in exchange for an unbiased review

One thought on “Home on the Range

Leave a Reply

