The Essential Amish Cookbook

0

Herald Press kindly invited me to enjoy a copy of Lovina Eicher’s cookbook. I wasn’t aware before, but this lovely woman is popular and has a syndicated column, Lovina’s Amish Kitchen, which appears in 40 newspapers around the United States and on a weekly blog.

Impressive. She has quite the collection of delicious, homey recipes. This book’s subtitle is “Everyday Recipes From Farm & Kitchen” so of course I knew I was going to love it. Let me tell you, farmer’s don’t go hungry!

Healthy, comforting dishes fill this beautiful book. I had to take some pictures with my iPhone and let you see a sample of what you will find in this cookbook.

Mrs. Eicher is the author of several cookbooks. She and her husband have eight children and live in rural Michigan.

The photographs that grace her pages are extraordinary. glossy and stunning, they make the cookbook a pleasure to visit. I’m a visual person and I enjoyed an afternoon of simply thumbing through and feasting with my eyes. But don’t neglect the vast array of dishes to make and serve your family, friends, and neighbors in here. This book could help you become the most popular lady at church potlucks and neighborhood parties because it’s filled with the kind of food that we love and remember.

Every farm woman needs this. It’s like having your Gramma, mother’s, and auntie’s recipes gathered in one pretty place. But even if you’re not a farmer, you’ll love this cookbook.

Leave a Reply

